top of page
  • Writer's pictureHaley Goodman

Oompa Loompa or Instagram Preset?

Okay, lets talk about how every girl on Instagram is all of a sudden washed out and orange. Experts call it “teal and orange” effect. I call it over exposed and oversaturated.


From my time on the app, Instagram has went from low quality selfies with a vignette filter, to all natural photos, back to crazy presents and filters. This time the picture quality is higher but the skin is orange. I am not a fan of this filter for a few reasons.



1. This present doesn't always look good on every photo

2. A spray tan is one thing, an oompa loompa is another

3. It's so obviously fake


Now while I am one to fully support editing your photo's for aesthetic purposes, this trend is too much for me. My research shows that "The No-Edit Edit" swill become the trend.


I think it is going to become more and more important to have a cohesive Instagram grid, but I also hope it becomes less edited, less orange and more natural. Authentic content is trending, and we see tonnes of brands, influencers and businesses getting on board and showing a more honest, real and vulnerable side to their stories.


While the accounts I follow are probably more likely to up their tan in a photo than the big time accounts and influencers, I love that more and more users are using the platform as a form of art. Not to post their art but their actual feed, stories and content is art itself. Other generations sometimes don't understand how much effort goes into that photo of avocado toast, or how much time goes into picking the right preset for your next 3 feed photos.



Instagram is also becoming a more prevalent way to make money, which I think also surprises those who are unfamiliar with the app. All these parts of the app will make it harder and harder to be successful as a college student trying to build my brand while doing a million other things a week. But, with that said, I think it will become a lot more fun to scroll through my feed in the upcoming years, and hopefully a lot less orange.


8 views0 comments
bottom of page